spacer
Mental Health
topleft topright
space Consumers spacer Family spacer Advocates spacer Students spacer Careers space
bottomleft bottomright
topright
strip-left
spacer
Find Services

space
Becoming a Community Service Provider
space
Line Separator
space

Thank you for your interest in becoming a certified community provider. According to Alabama law, any community program providing services to people living with developmental disabilities, mental illness, and/or substance use disorders, must be certified by the Alabama Department of Mental Health. Certification standards are outlined in the Alabama Administrative Code (state law). ADMH established a certification process to ensure services provided in the community meet those quality and safety standards.

Certification by the ADMH is not a means of obtaining clients for the services your agency is certified to provide, nor is it a means of obtaining funding or payment for the services your program is certified to provide. As you are considering whether you want to become a community provider, you should:

  • Go to the Alabama Secretary of State website to review requirements for becoming a business in Alabama.
  • Develop community partnerships by reaching out to other community providers and organizations who have an interest in the people who may need the services you plan to provide.
  • Establish a business plan to determine how your agency will obtain clients and receive payments for services provided by your agency.

The ADMH provides a two-phase orientation process to assist you in understanding the certification application process and to provide you with information you can use to determine whether your program has the current capacity to meet certification standards.

Completion of this orientation does not guarantee that your program will be certified.

Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation
(Phase 1 – online course)

This is an online course available at: http://admh.academy.reliaslearning.com. The cost of the Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation (Phase 1) is $25. Once you have completed this online course, print the certificate of completion to include with your registration packet for Phase 2. You cannot enroll in the Phase 2 orientation without the certificate of completion from Phase 1.

Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation
(Phase 2 – Live Event)

Phase 2 of the certification orientation is a live event conducted twice a year (typically in the spring and fall) in Montgomery, Alabama. This phase of the orientation will provide more detail on the minimum standards and requirements for becoming a certified program and allow you to ask questions about the certification process. The cost for registration to this phase of the orientation is $100. You must submit the Phase 2 Certificate of Completion certificate with your agency’s ADMH certification application when you apply for certification.

***SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT***

  • All available slots for the developmental/intellectual disability services have been filled for the Fall 2018 Phase 2 orientation. We will not be accepting any additional participants for developmental/intellectual disability services.
  • The Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services is revising their training and will not have a phase 2 orientation until the spring of 2019. (Please refer back to this page for future registration opportunities)
  • There is still availability for certification of substance abuse services.
  • Based on current needs for substance abuse services, preference will be given for certification applications submitted substance abuse services in the following counties: Autauga, Bullock, Coffee, Lawrence, Lowndes, Perry, Washington, and Wilcox counties.

The next date for Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation (Phase 2 – Live Event) will be Thursday, September 6, 2018 in Montgomery, Alabama at the State Capitol Auditorium. There is a maximum enrollment of 125. Please use the link below to download the Registration Packet and forward your completed Registration Form, Certificate of Completion from Phase 1, and a Money Order or Cashier’s Check in the amount of $100 to:

Mail registration fee, Phase 1-Certificate of Completion, and Registration Form to:
Alabama Department of Mental Health
Attention: Office of Staff Development
P.O Box 301410
Montgomery, AL 36130-1410

Registration Packet

Registration for Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation (Phase 2 – Live Event) is first received/first registered. This orientation is not approved for continuing education and is non-refundable. No refunds will be offered for cancellation.

topleft topright
Site Contents A to Z
Press Room
Media Center
Events Calendar
Mental Health History
Advocacy Services
Nursing Home Screening (OBRA PASRR)
Deaf Services
Staff Development & Training
Nurse Delegation Program
Becoming a Community Provider
Contracts & Vendor Opportunities
bottomleft bottomright

strip-right
corner-bot-left corner-bot-right