The State of Alabama requires a license to practice applied behavior analysis (ABA). Board Certified Behavior Analysts and Board Certified Assistant Behavior Analysts providing services in Alabama should complete the application process as described in the instructions available below. A license is not required for Registered Behavior Technicians.
Become a Board Certified Behavior Analyst
Before you can become licensed, you need to have an active certification from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board® (BACB®). This certification requires a college degree, specific coursework, supervision, and successful completion of the certification exam. For more information, please visit BACB®’s website at www.bacb.com.
The Board does not have specific guidelines for how to provide services under the COVID-19 pandemic, but we expect all licensees to adhere to the Governor's current orders and CDC guidelines to help ensure the safety of our clients as is required by our ethical code.
Apply for a License
- Online Application and Instructions
- For applicants licensed as a behavior analyst in another state: Licensure Verification Form
- For assistant behavior analyst applicants: Proof of Supervision Form
- Request for Name or Contact Information Change
Renew Your License
- Licenses are active for up to 2 years depending on the date when your license is issued; all licenses expire on December 31 of the year following the year when issued. If your license is issued any time in 2020, your license will expire on December 31, 2021. If your license is issued any time in 2021, your license will expire on December 31, 2022.
- All licenses initially issued in 2019 expire December 31, 2020. Check the email we have on file for a link to the online renewal application or email the board for the link. The deadline for renewal was December 15, 2021, so a $50 late fee will now apply.
- All licenses initially issued in 2017, 2018, and 2020 expire December 21, 2021. You will receive an email notification by October 1, 2021 with a link to the renewal application that must be completed between October 1, 2021 and November 30, 2021 to avoid a late fee. Please be sure we have your current email address on file.
Verify a License
- Agencies and individuals can verify an individual’s licensure status by emailing the board or checking our list of Active Licenses as of October 20, 2022.
File a Complaint
- Use the complaint form below to file a complaint about a licensee with the board. After we receive the complaint, we will contact you to confirm the receipt. The board will review the matter at the next scheduled board meeting to determine how to proceed. If you have any questions, please email us.
- Complaint Form
More Information about the Board
- Read our governing law: See Title 34, Chapter 5A
- Read our administrative code: Chapter 580-5-30B
- Board meetings are open to the public and announced on the Secretary of State’s website at least one week in advance.
- Board meeting minutes are available upon request via email and will be posted to our website soon.
- Alabama Behavior Analyst Licensing Board Appointed Members
Email: Alabama Behavior Analyst Licensing Board
Phone message system: 1-800-392-0821
Mail: 100 N. Union Street, Suite 536 Montgomery, AL 36130
Please note that board members share responsibility for monitoring these and will respond as quickly as possible; please allow a minimum of 2-3 business days for a response.