Thank you for your interest in becoming a certified community provider. According to Alabama law, any community program providing services to people living with developmental disabilities, mental illnesses, and/or substance use disorders, must be certified by the Alabama Department of Mental Health. Certification standards are outlined in the Alabama Administrative Code. ADMH established a certification process to ensure services provided in the community meet those quality and safety standards.
Certification by the ADMH is not a means of obtaining clients for the services your agency is certified to provide, nor is it a means of obtaining funding or payment for the services your program is certified to provide. As you are considering whether you want to become a community provider, you should:
ADMH provides a two-phase orientation process to assist you in understanding the certification application process and to provide you with information you can use to determine whether your program has the current capacity to meet certification standards.
Completion of this orientation does not guarantee that your program will be certified.
Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation (Phase 1 – online course)
Phase 1 of the certification orientation is an online course available at: http://admh.academy.reliaslearning.com. This phase of the orientation will help prospective providers understand the certification application process and determine whether they have the capacity to meet certification requirements. The cost for registration to this phase of the orientation is $25. Once you have completed this online course, print the certificate of completion to include with your registration packet for Phase 2. You cannot enroll in the Phase 2 orientation without the certificate of completion from Phase 1.
Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation (Phase 2 – live event)
The next date for Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation (Phase 2 – Live Event) will be Thursday, September 5, 2019 in Montgomery, Alabama at the State Capitol Auditorium. There is a maximum enrollment of 125. Please use the link below to download the Registration Packet and forward your completed Registration Form, Certificate of Completion from Phase 1, and a Money Order or Cashier’s Check in the amount of $100 to:
Mail registration fee, Phase 1-Certificate of Completion, and Registration Form to:
Alabama Department of Mental Health
Attention: Office of Staff Development
P.O Box 301410
Montgomery, AL 36130-1410
Registration for Prospective Community Provider – Certification Orientation (Phase 2 – Live Event) is first received/first registered. This orientation is not approved for continuing education and is non-refundable. No refunds will be offered for cancellation.
There is still registration availability for the Fall 2019 Phase 2 orientation for substance abuse services. Based on current needs for substance abuse services, preference will be given for certification applications submitted for substance abuse services in the following counties: Autauga, Bullock, Coffee, Lawrence, Lowndes, Perry, Washington, and Wilcox counties.
All available slots for the developmental/intellectual disability services have been filled for the Fall 2019 Phase 2 orientation. We will not be accepting any additional participants for developmental/intellectual disability services.
Mental Health services is revising their training and will not have a phase 2 orientation until the spring of 2020. (Please refer back to this page for future registration opportunities)