School Based Mental Health Collaboration

The Alabama Department of Mental Health has expanded the School Based Mental Health Services Program since its inception in 2010. The goal of the School-Based Mental Health Services (SBMH) collaboration between Alabama Department of Mental Health and its providers and the Alabama State Department of Education and Alabama’s local education agencies is to ensure that children and adolescents, both general and special education, enrolled in local school systems have access to high quality mental health prevention, early intervention and treatment services. The aim is to achieve greater integration of mental health services between the mental health centers and the public schools and to increase the utilization of evidence-based practices. The integration of these services will foster continuity of care and ensure sustained gains in academic and developmental domains for children, youth, and their families.


Nine mental health centers were added with the $500,000 appropriation in FY19. We now have a total of 60 school systems participating in School-Based Mental Health. The recently added MHCs work with the following school systems:

  • North Central Mental Health – Hartselle City Schools
  • AltaPointe – Randolph County Schools and Roanoke City Schools
  • Wellstone – Huntsville City Schools
  • Northwest – Winston County Schools
  • South Central – Coffee County Schools
  • Chilton-Shelby – Chilton County Schools
  • East Central – Pike County Schools
  • MAMHA – Elmore County Schools

Gayla Caddell, Coordinator Child & Adolescent Mental Illness Services